JOHN-PAUL MOORE : JP DESIGNS ART

 
Well of course I absolutely adore, love and admire our next featured pioneer who is choosing to Excel in ’11!! John-Paul Moore of JP Designs Art is not only my husband but THEE best graphic artist you’re going to find anywhere ( and no I’m not just saying that lol)! He has such a creative eye for what he does and a heart as big as the universe to ensure he helps your vision come to life. He has taken every inch of talent God has blessed him with and he is pouring it into the lives of everyone around him; helping businesses start / re-start,  fueling the fire under dim ideas and inspiring everyone around him as he embarks on his journey as the CEO and creative director for his own business. Check out my interview with John-Paul, affectionately known as JP and get inspired to make your dreams and visions come true!! 
****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
TELL US ABOUT YOURSELF! 

I’m a native of San Diego, CA!…you know, the place that’s 70+ degrees year around (smile)! I lived in Oceanside, CA for about 22 years, until my job relocated me to NJ…you know, the place with 32 inches of snow! I think it was 4 degrees here this morning! But it’s all good, I met you, my beautiful wife here.  I love God with all my heart; I’m a PK (Preacher’s Kid). And in my free time I am probably knee-deep in cupcakes!!

 WHAT IGNITED THE SPARK TO START YOUR OWN BUSINESS?

I started designing flyers and cd covers for my good friends and mentors,  Eddie Baltrip, and my Godfather, Clyde Williams, back in 2003 and doing little projects for the family, like Christmas cards. It’s pretty funny because the other day I found an old Christmas card I designed for our family back in 2003, and on the back I put a little JP Designs Art logo and at the bottom the words read “An Establishing Design Firm”. It almost brought me to tears, because I realize this company has really been 8 years in the making; and it may have been delayed, but I never gave up on it.

HOW DID JP DESIGNS ART FINALLY COME TO BE?

I owe all the credit to God. It wasn’t my idea, I was in school for Psychology. I was a student working as a full-time retail manager for a major retail brand. The company had moved me to South San Diego to open a new store, but business was sooooo slow in that store. In my down time I created a music video of the store on a Mac Laptop my mom and dad bought for me, I guess they saw something I hadn’t. Anyways, the music video of the store turned out so great that I decided to package it in a nice DVD case, designed a cover and everything! I figured, why not send it to the president of the company as a gift…what did I have to lose, right? Well, sure enough a few weeks later I received a message from the president of the retail company saying, “JP, I received your music video and I had a 2 hour presentation to make at our corporate budget meeting. I had 10 minutes to fill, and your video was a perfect fit! We need you in the corporate office”. So God obviously had a plan for my life bigger than I imagined, because he took a boy from Oceanside, with no college degree, no graphic design experience and made him the head graphic designer for a major retail brand. The brand sent me to graphic design classes and I learned a ton about the graphic design field. I spent 7 years with them, and in those last 2 years I knew my God-given assignment there was coming to an end and God had something even greater planned for me. I began praying for a way of escape, so that I could really establish JP Designs Art and use the gift God had given me and cultivated to help build His Kingdom here on earth. Sure enough, the Lord made it happen effortlessly in December 2010. And let me tell you, I’ve hit the ground running!!!

WHAT IS THE NAME OF YOUR COMPANY AND WHAT DO YOU SPECIALIZE IN?

JP Designs Art is a full service creative, innovative and professional marketing company committed to bringing your ideas to life. Our capabilities include, but are not limited to: Logos, Business Cards, Postcards, Flyers, Apparel Printing, Invitations and Personalized Greeting Cards, Announcements, CD/DVD Covers, Letterheads, and Company Consultations.  

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

WHAT SETS YOUR BUSINESS APART FROM OTHER COMPANIES LIKE YOURS?

The main goal and #1 priority for JP DESIGNS ART is to always exceed the customer’s expectations, but the finished product is the smile on the customer’s face! We don’t do the cookie-cutter designs. Every project is treated as if it were for myself, and I only like the BEST!
 
WHAT HAVE BEEN SOME OF YOUR FAILURES AND WHAT HAVE YOU LEARNED FROM THEM?
I’ll tell you like Thomas Edison said, “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.”
 
WHAT MOTIVATES YOU?
Imagine someone entrusts you with a multi-million dollar company, and they say ‘Here’s a company that I tailor-made for you to run. Here’s everything you need to make it happen. Now I have great plans for you and this business to prosper beyond what you can even imagine, so make me proud!”. Well that’s what the Lord told me concerning JP DESIGNS ART, and that’s all the motivation I need.

HOW DO YOU DEFINE SUCCESS?

 I’ll tell you how God does. Proverbs 13:22 says “A good man leaves an inheritance for his children’s children”. I believe I’ll feel like I’m successful when I can say that. I’ve been so blessed to travel, eat at nice places, and experience the finer things in life. I do what I LOVE for a living, have a great wife, and family I love….but it doesn’t mean much if I haven’t left anything for my children and their children. My father, the late Rev. Robert L. Moore, Sr., was successful at doing just that and he is my role model as I strive to do the same.

WHO INSPIRES YOU?

My parents, Robert & Blendale Moore, are my greatest inspiration. They have invested endless days, and sleepless nights and millions of dollars into their children. Looking back at the sacrifices and hard work they made inspires me to carry on the great legacy they have built. I had an opportunity to share my business plan with my dad before he passed, and he blessed it; that means the world to me. I’m also inspired by my Godfather, Clyde Williams. I’ve seen this man go from pit, to palace, to pit, to palace and everywhere in-between, but never one day could you tell if he was in the pit or the palace because he always looked like he was on top of the world. The way his faith never wavered, and how I watched God sustain him inspires me, and reminds me that when you are obedient to God’s Word, He will bless everything your hand touches to prosper. And last but certainly not least, you…my wife inspires me. Taking this leap of faith could have been a difficult one, but having my best friend and lover by my side, reassuring me that this was the will of God for our lives made it effortless. Having you cheering me on from project to project is inspiration that money cannot by. I love you. (Awww…Love You too schnookums!!)

WHAT SACRIFICES HAVE YOU MADE TO GET TO WHERE YOU ARE TODAY?

SLEEP!!  Lot’s of sleep! When I was working for the retail brand I would work 9-5, then come home and work from 8pm-4am and all through the weekend. I barely got any sleep! But it was a sacrifice well worth seeing the progress the company made.

HOW DO YOU MANAGE A SOCIAL LIFE AND BEING A BUSINESS OWNER?

People say, “Oh it must be great having your own business. You make your own hours. You come and go as you please!”. Well, that may be the case one day, but right now I’m in the early “crunch time” phase of establishing the business. I’m the President, Creative Director, Office Manager, Project Coordinator, Administrative Assistant, Account Manager, Purchasing Manager, Legal Team, and Custodian! It’s definitely more than a full-time gig, but I love it and it makes me appreciate those checks all the more when I go to the bank! LOL! But balancing the social life is difficult, because you want to enjoy the downtime, but the Administrative Assistant in me is thinking “you have a meeting tomorrow at 2pm, did you send the confirmation email?”. Hahaha! It’s something I live and breathe. The balance definitely needs some work, but thank God He’s given us grace to run the race, and live for the weekends that we can unwind and relax a little bit!

EXCLUDING YOUR BUSINESS =) WHAT COMPANY OR OTHER BUSINESS’ DO YOU ADMIRE?

I really admire OPRAH- talk about starting from scratch and becoming one of the most recognized names in the world; now she has her own network that doesn’t even appear to be a “start-up” network!!!? WOW!

I also admire my friend and big-bro, Marcell Pickens. He and his wife Evvett have a photography company called, EVVETT MARCELL PHOTOGRAPHY, and I admire them for the excellence that pours out of every project they do! Their work is phenomenal and it definitely sets a new standard.

And last but not least SWEET REVENGE!!! Owner Marlo Scott has a similar story of working in the corporate world for “the man”, and she has soared like an eagle above the clouds when she opened her cupcake and beer bar, becoming the face of Chase Ink and being featured on several daytime television shows. SWEET REVENGE branding is so catchy and consistent, and admire Marlo for being the fun, snazzy, down-to-earth owner that really makes you feel like it’s a brand you can trust!

WHAT ARE 7 OF YOUR FAVORITE PROJECTS?

1. The church fan wedding programs!!!


2. Our wedding favors!!!

 3. Our wedding invitations!!!


4. The message in a bottle!!!


5. Anwar CD Cover!!!!


6. Summer Cookout Flyer!!!


7. Variety Praise DVD Design!!!



 WHERE DO YOU SEE YOURSELF AND YOUR BUSINESS IN 5 YEARS? 10 YEARS?

5 years, 10 years, truly only the Lord knows! He has a habit of exceeding my expectations. So I’ll say I would love to have an office and staff based out of Santa Monica, CA and another office in Downtown NYC….and maybe one in Chicago as well! Why not, right!?

WHAT ARE 3 PIECES OF ADVICE YOU WOULD GIVE SOMEONE WANTING TO START THEIR OWN BUSINESS?

1. Keep your dreams alive.
2. Understand to achieve anything requires faith and belief in yourself, vision, hard work, determination, and dedication.
3. Remember all things are possible for those who believe.

HOW CAN PEOPLE REACH OUT TO YOU OR KEEP IN TOUCH?

Check out my website: www.jpdesignsart.com
Email me: jpdesignsart@aol.com
Become a fan of JP Designs: http://www.facebook.com/pages/JP-Designs-Art/146475935381011
Google Me: JP Designs Art

****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Thats my husband!! What an incredibly motivating interview! Join me in wishing JP a blessed, successful and prosperous experience as a CEO! We pray nothing but the best for him and JP Designs!!! Here’s to “Excel’n in ’11”!!!!

  

Love Yah!

Peaches

EXCEL: LOVE: EXPLORE

 

****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

       

  

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

     

 

Comments
11 Responses to “JOHN-PAUL MOORE : JP DESIGNS ART”
  1. jpdesignsart says:

    Thanks for a great interview Peaches! I’m so enormously proud of you and honored to be featured on the new HOTTEST blog on the world wide web!!! As Daddy would say, “you go girl!”.

  2. Tony Therman says:

    Wow… you guys could not have been any more… what is the word?… cuter…lol
    truly inspiring words… What sticks with me is “1. Keep your dreams alive.
    2. Understand to achieve anything requires faith and belief in yourself, vision, hard work, determination, and dedication.
    3. Remember all things are possible for those who believe”

    I will def. remember these words and make something more out of myself… thanks bro.

  3. Robyn Roundtree says:

    What an Absolutely Wonderful Interview!!
    Kudos to you Ms. Peaches – you are Very Talented yourself – no living in the “shadow” for you!
    Go Girl!

  4. Clyde Williams says:

    Wow. My son. Great Job Jen.

  5. darkeyz23 says:

    Awesome interview Jenn!

    JP! You are on fire. An inspiration indeed! I just got go know you a little bit better through this amazing interview. I pray with you for continuous blessings and success in the growth of JP Designs Art.

    Jenn I’m loving the blog. Totally Awesome. Keep it coming! Luv you guys!

  6. Blendale says:

    What a winning interview and a superfantastic interviewer!… profound and emotional for me. John Paul, the Apostle Paul said in Acts 20:24, “His life was worth nothing unless it was used for doing the work God had assigned to him”. So, continue to stir up the gift God has given you for His Glory 2Timothy l:6. I thank God for you and may His name be praised! Trust Him in every area of your lives(Jenn and you).

    Love you
    Mom.

  7. Your Big Day says:

    What a great interview… I second the no sleep, as I type this at 2:02am… Best Wishes to JP Designs Art!

  8. That was awesome!!!!! We have to get you both in Essence/Ebony as the power couple to watch… Love you guys. Thank you both for your grace, humanity and all the love and support of SMEG|SAVvy MARKeting Entertainment Group.

    You know I’m not a church person but I will say this…. God has both our ventures covered. We are L.O.T.D. – Living Our True Dreams

  9. Mr. & Mrs. Moore: I truly commend you both on your successes (dynamic duo!) I enjoyed reading every exchanged comment while your love for each other is evident! I can comment and agree with so many points shared…one in particular, “when you are obedient to God’s Word, He will bless everything your hand touches to prosper.” This is so in line with God’s word: Seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you” (Matthew 6:33). I look forward to learning more abut the both of you and pray that God continues to reveal Himself in greater dimensions as well as continues to prosper you and your family! You will both leave a mighty legacy and an inheritance as your heart desires in Jesus name 🙂

    ~ANGEL~

  10. Mary Funchess says:

    Marvelous Job Peaches and JP! I throughly enjoyed your interview. When you entrust yourself to God not one thing is wasted in doing His work. I’m so glad you took the first step without fear. May you have a great future in God service.
    Love Aunt Micki

Leave a comment